30 Here I Come

It’s starting.  I’m aging.  The grey’s aren’t even sparse in my hair anymore.  A recent study found that the average age a women starts to feel old is 29, and buddy in a few days, I’ll turn 29.  Yikes!

In preparation for the be 3-0, I’ve decided to do a 30 before 30 list.  You know…  A bucket list of big things you want to do before you turn 30.  I’ve got some big life events on the list that I know will happen next year as well as many things that I feel like I should have done while I was young, but was too busy studying or working to do.  I want to do thinks like learn how to bar tend and play darts while I’m still young enough for these things to be socially acceptable.  No, I’m not going to quit my career and go work at a Coyote Ugly type bar, but a girl my age should no how to mix a martini or margarita for her girl friends when they come over to watch a chic flick.

Not all of my list is young and silly.  Also included on the list is 30 random acts of kindness.  They don’t have to be huge.  I can pick up the tab for a mom at Subway getting her kids lunch or offer to take a shopping cart back when someone has their hands full.  There is no doubt that my first 30 years have been a blessing, and I think it will do my soul good to mindfully do nice things for others over the next year.

That’s my plan.  The clock started ticking on my list… 30 things in about one year… I better get busy.

 

6 thoughts on “30 Here I Come

    • 75! What a fun birthday! I’m so happy we share our birthdays. I really can’t wait to try my 30 before 30 challenge. 75 before 75 would be a bit much though… Wishing you a wonderful bday. Although I’m sure we’ll chat by blog before then. 😉

      • Guess where I spent my 75th birthday…! Okay, I’ll tell you! Aboard a Norwegian Cruise Ship, Pride of America, cruising the Hawaiian Islands!!! I still can’t believe it! ❤

      • That is awesome!!!! I hope you had such an amazing birthday! I’ll have to swing by your blog and read about your adventures. You were on my mind last week actually.

  1. Awesome to use milestones to challenge your growth and find time to learn. I can’t believe how many things I’ve done since I was 30. It’s when life really began for me, and I see so much more to come now!…just wait till your 49!…it’s a little daunting, I must say. But I’ve never felt more optimistic for my future…All the best for yours! 🙂

  2. I’m actually really excited and hopeful for my 30s. Most of my friends have commented on how much they loved their 30s and how life is a nice balance of settled and interesting then. I hope I’ll never stop learning. Some times I just wish I could flash forward to see the wisdom I might accrue by 49 or 75 but I guess I’ll just enjoy the ride along the way.

Leave a Reply

