The Kiss

Some joy infuses.  It infuses despite the turmoil, the tired, or the sadness.

A few days ago, I was helping mom change dad’s bed before his breakfast.  My mom leaned down and kissed my dad good morning.  He piped up, “Wonderful.”  My mom replied, “What’s wonderful?”  To which my dad smiled and said, “Kiss.”

My mom went on and told him that he had been sick a few days, but that she kissed him every day.  He said, “I know.  Kisses are always appreciated.”

It was one of the sweetest moments I’ve ever witnessed.  There are waves of tired and of uncontrollable grief, but in the mist of it all, it’s so important to remember that kisses and love are always appreciated.

4 thoughts on “The Kiss

  1. You just might be one of the strongest people I’ve ever known. And despite everything, you always see the joy and beauty in the world. Love you lots beautiful woman.

Leave a Reply

